Eagle Talon

From 1990 to 1999, two generations of the Eagle Talon were manufactured and sold by Diamond-Star Motors (DSM), which is a joint collaboration between the Chrysler Corporation in the U.S. and Mitsubishi Motors in Japan. The Eagle Talon is a sport coupe that comes as a three-door liftback similar to the Mitsubishi Eclipse and the Plymouth Laser. In fact, all three vehicles share the same platform at the DSM plant in Illinois. Mechanically, the three vehicles are identical, but cosmetic changes distinguish the three brands.

More on the Eagle Talon
About the Eagle Talon

The easiest, and most obvious, way to distinguish the Eagle Talon from the other two cars is the fact that it always has a two-tone body color. Also, no matter the color of the body, the roof, pillars, and side mirrors are always black. The Eagle Talon offers three performance levels, with two of them being front-wheel drive vehicles and one level operating with all-wheel drive. The combination of engine and layout of the Talon determines the performance level. The three levels include the base model, the TSi model with a turbocharged engine, and the TSi AWD model.

Eagle Talon Features

In the summer of 1994, the second generation of the Eagle Talon was launched at the same time of the Mitsubishi Eclipse for the 1995 model year. As with the previous generations of these cars, they are mechanically identical but have greater cosmetic differences than the first generation. The new generation of the Eagle Talon offers a sport coupe with an updated design and more power than the previous models.

The wheelbase measures longer and wider than the previous versions, but the actual car is shorter. Dual airbags and four-wheel disc brakes come standard on all trim levels, while anti-lock brakes remain optional. Depending on the performance level, both front-wheel drive and all-wheel drive versions are still available. The 1.8-liter engine for the base model was dropped though, and all models have a 2.0-liter, four-cylinder engine. In the base model, this new engine provides an increase in power up to 140 horsepower. The turbocharged performance levels also show an increase in power due to modifications to the engine and a new turbocharger. Manual turbocharged vehicles expect 210 horsepower from the engine, while those with automatic transmissions produce 205 horsepower.

All versions of the Eagle Talon accommodate four passengers, with two bucket seats in the front and a bench in the rear. In both TSi models, a folding seat back comes standard, but it must be ordered as an optional feature for the base level model. The second, and final, generation of the Eagle Talon was in production until 1998, with the 1999 model being the last version available for purchase. Except for a design refresh in 1997, when the front and rear portions of the Talon were updated, the look and performance of the car stayed relatively the same throughout its production run.

Eagle Talon Evolution

The first generation of the Eagle Talon to be produced was available for the 1990 model year, starting in 1989. While this initial generation continued production until 1994, two different styles were manufactured. The very first Eagle Talon cars have hidden, pop-up headlights and a six-bolt engine. This style can be found on the first two years of the first generation. For the 1992 model, composite headlights with integrated turn signal lights replace the pop-up hidden ones. Also, the modified engine upgrades to a seven-bolt. Going forward, these changes were maintained for all subsequent Eagle Talon models.

For the first two years, the base model of the Eagle Talon came equipped with a 2.0-liter, four-cylinder engine with a power rating of 135 horsepower. In 1993, an additional base model was added to the lineup, resulting in two different base levels to choose from, which include the DL and ES. The ES model maintains the same engine as the base up until that time. The DL model contains a 1.8-liter, four-cylinder engine that produces 92 horsepower. All base models can be ordered with a five-speed manual or a four-speed automatic transmission.

The TSi and TSi AWD levels of the first generation come equipped with the same 2.0-liter, four-cylinder engine as the base model. The difference lies in the fact that it has an intercooled turbocharger added to it. As a result, both levels have engines with power ratings of 190 horsepower. The TSi AWD represents the top performance level for the Eagle Talon, as it combines the turbocharged engine with permanently engaged all-wheel drive. When both of these performance levels were released in 1989, they came with a manual transmission only. With the 1991 model year, an automatic transmission could be ordered for the turbocharged performance levels, so all Eagle Talon trim levels were available as manual or automatic drives.

Select an Eagle Talon Year

1998 Eagle Talon

Coupe, Hatchback, Sports

First introduced in 1990, the Eagle Talon was developed as part of a joint venture between Chrysler and Mitsubishi.

1997 Eagle Talon

Coupe, Hatchback, Sports

The 1997 Eagle Talon provides an inexpensive all-wheel and front drive sport coupe.

1996 Eagle Talon

Coupe, Hatchback, Sports

The 1996 Eagle Talon comes with three engine choices, two transmission choices, and four trim levels.

1995 Eagle Talon

Coupe, Hatchback, Sports

The Eagle Talon is a compact sport coupe designed to compete with late Japanese imports.