Jaguar Cars

Jaguar is an automaker that manufactures popular British luxury cars which gained notoriety and prestige in America.

In 1922, Swallow Sidecar (SS) Company was founded by William Walmsley and William Lyons. Originally a designer of motorcycle sidecars, in 1935, the SS introduced the Jaguar SS 90 and SS 100, its first passenger vehicles. After World War II, the SS was dropped to avoid any incorrect connection with Nazi Germany and the company became known as Jaguar. Jaguar was purchased by Rubery Owen, yet maintained modest commercial success with a number of its models. The parent company was able to buy the company that had been providing Jaguar six-cylinder engines during this time as well. The name Jaguar remained, and it enjoyed success with sport models such as the XK 120, 140, and 150, and the E Type, called XKE in the U.S.

More on Jaguar

Jaguar After World War II

Shortly after World War II, and increasingly through the 1950s and 1960s, Jaguar’s history was marked with considerable marketing success. Its slogan, "Grace, Space, Pace," was embodied in a series of luxury models that offered a lot of room, a comfortable ride and plenty of power. During this time, Jaguar won several international speed competitions, while its vehicles also did very well on the consumer market led by the MK VII, IX, MKs I and II, and eventually the still popular XJ6 and its subsequent models.

In 1966, Jaguar and British Motor Corporation (BMC) merged and created British Motor Holdings (BMH). Other merges resulted in Rover and Standard Triumph becoming part of the larger corporation, known as British Leyland Motor Company (BLMC), in 1968. Due to financial difficulties, it was nationalized in 1975 and became British Leyland, Ltd. Restructuring during the 1980s led to much of the company separating. In 1984, Jaguar again became a separate company on the stock market.

In 1989, Ford purchased Jaguar and it became part of Ford's Premier Automotive Group, which also included Aston Martin, Land Rover, and Volvo. While Jaguar was owned by Ford, it expanded the number of vehicles available to the consumer to include the S-Type and X-Type. Under the Ford umbrella and sharing a distribution and sales network, the two companies shared one production facility which produced components for the X-Type and the Freelander 2. Otherwise components, manufacturing, and engineering remained separate. In 2007, Ford announced a plan to put Jaguar and Land Rover back on the market.

In 2008, Ford sold Jaguar and Land Rover to Tata Motors of India for 1.7 billion pounds. The negotiations addressed a number of issues including labor agreements, technology, and engineering, along with the final sale price.

Jaguar in America

Jaguar vehicles were popular in the United States even prior to World War II, with 1.5, 2.5, and 3.5 liter models designed by Standard Motor Company. Jaguar increased in popularity with the introduction of the Mark V. It's consistently considered a top of the line luxury vehicle, regardless of the many changes in ownership throughout the years. Production remained primarily separate for Jaguar even during the Ford years, in large part allowing Jaguar to remain unique in design, technology and engineering. The most recent buyer, Tata Motors, continues this Jaguar tradition.

Jaguar Models

Jaguar produced some of the most popular luxury and sport vehicles on the road from the very beginning. Mark IV was perhaps the first internationally successful vehicle Jaguar made. It followed that success with the even more popular Mark V. In 1948, the XK120 was considered one of the fastest sports cars available with a 3.5 liter hemi-head six-cylinder engine. Jaguar introduced the popular Mark VII in 1951 specifically for the U.S. market. Somewhat returning to its roots, Jaguar reintroduced the Mark I in 1955 and, in subsequent years, Jaguar continued to upgrade its Mark series with new technologies, more powerful engines and more luxury features. The E-Type, a small and fast sports car, was introduced in 1963. The XJ series later gained popularity and became the signature luxury car in the line. In 1992, Jaguar boasted the fastest production car in the world, the XJ220.

The XJ is a full-size luxury car and Jaguar's current flagship model. The first attempts received some criticism for looking "too old," despite a powerful engine and all of the luxuries of a vehicle in its class. Jaguar re-released the fourth generation XJ with a more youthful look, receiving far better press. The XF is its primary executive vehicle and offers top of the line luxury and safety features as well as a 5.0 liter V-8. The Jaguar XK is its sportier, smaller model first introduced in 2006.

Select a Jaguar Model

Jaguar E-PACE

2019-2018 | SUV, Utility/Offroad

Jaguar F-Pace

2019-2017 | SUV, Utility/Offroad

Jaguar F-Type

2019-2014 | Convertible, Coupe, Sports

Jaguar S-Type

2008-2000 | Luxury, Sedan

The Jaguar S-Type is an executive midsize luxury car that was produced from 1998 to 2008.

Jaguar XE

2019-2017 | Luxury, Sedan

Jaguar XF

2019-2017, 2015-2009 | Luxury, Sedan, Wagon

The Jaguar XF is a midsize luxury sedan that was designed as a successor to the Jaguar S-Type, which the brand discontinued in 2008.

Jaguar XJ

2019-2017 | Luxury, Sedan

Jaguar XJ12

1996-1995 | Luxury, Sedan

The Jaguar XJ12 is a luxury saloon car that the manufacturer produced from 1972 to 1992.

Jaguar XJ6

1997-1995 | Luxury, Sedan

At the time of its introduction, the Jaguar XJ6 was considered to be the pinnacle of automotive engineering and a status symbol.

Jaguar XJ8

2001-1998 | Luxury, Sedan

The Jaguar XJ8 is a luxury sedan that Jaguar manufactured from 1997 through 2009.

Jaguar XJR

2001-1995 | Luxury, Sedan

Over the years, the Jaguar XJR has been modified along with changing road regulations.

Jaguar XJS

1996-1995 | Convertible, Coupe, Luxury

In 1974, Jaguar XJS E-Type sales dropped rapidly despite the presence of the relatively new V-12 engine.

Jaguar XJ-Series

2016-2011, 2009-2002 | Luxury, Sedan

The Jaguar XJ-Series is a complete series of luxury sedans produced and sold by British car manufacturer Jaguar. Jaguar introduced the first car in the XJ-Series in 1968.

Jaguar XK

2015 | Convertible, Coupe, Luxury

Jaguar XK8

1999-1997 | Convertible, Coupe, Luxury

The XK series of Jaguar vehicles has a long history in the Jaguar line.

Jaguar XKR

2015 | Convertible, Coupe, Luxury

Jaguar XK-Series

2014-2000 | Convertible, Coupe, Luxury

The Jaguar XK-Series includes three cars: the Jaguar XK, XK8, and XKR.

Jaguar X-Type

2008-2002 | Luxury, Sedan, Wagon

The Jaguar X-Type is a compact, entry-level luxury sedan that was in production from 2001 to 2009.