Jaguar XJ-Series

The Jaguar XJ-Series is a complete series of luxury sedans produced and sold by British car manufacturer Jaguar. Jaguar introduced the first car in the XJ-Series in 1968. Since then, all of Jaguar's successive flagship cars have been a part of this series. The original Jaguar XJ was the last Jaguar made with the involvement of company founder Sir William Lyons. The latest model in the Jaguar XJ-Series was launched in 2009.

More on the Jaguar XJ-Series
About the Jaguar XJ-Series

The Jaguar XJ-Series spans four generations and close to half a century. However, until recently there were very few styling changes between each generation. The Jaguar XJ-Series is known for being the complete embodiment of traditional Jaguar styling. This, however, is only in terms of the exterior. Inside the car, you can see a range of transformations through the generations. All-aluminum frames, powerful V-8 engines, and other high-tech features such as navigation, Bluetooth, and cruise control have been added to the Jaguar XJ-Series.

The Jaguar XJ-Series is characterized by a combination of Jaguar tradition and technologically advanced performance and features. This combination of old and new worked for some time with the British car manufacturer, but it eventually failed. The failure of the Jaguar XJ-Series put the company in a dangerous position, which caused it to make drastic changes to the series. Jaguar has breathed new life into the XJ-Series with a fresh and radical fourth generation.

Jaguar XJ-Series Features

The Jaguar XJ-Series was modified in the year 2009 as a completely new generation. The fourth generation in the XJ-Series does away with the series-type numbering of the previous generations, and shares none of the classic style of the older XJ models. Although the in-house name of the latest Jaguar XJ-Series car is X351, it is known to the world simply as the Jaguar XJ.

The 2009 Jaguar XJ-Series luxury sedan is known for completely redefining Jaguar's style. Jaguar cars were known to be outdated and unremarkable-looking on the outside, but the new Jaguar XJ completely changes this perception. This luxury sedan has gained rave reviews across the world, and the huge risk that Jaguar took to change its image has paid off. The new Jaguar XJ is loaded with the refinement of a German luxury car and has the spirit and agility of the Jaguar XK series.

The new Jaguar XJ-Series is fitted with a high-tech, naturally aspirated, 5.0-liter V-8 engine that the earlier XF and XJ cars share. Jaguar also offers the car with a supercharged version of the V-8 and a V-6 diesel engine in Europe. The car itself is amazingly comfortable to sit and drive around in, and it scores high marks in terms of handling, suspension, and sheer quality.

Jaguar XJ-Series Evolution

The first car in the Jaguar XJ-Series is the XJ6. It uses a 2.8-liter and 4.2-liter version of the renowned Jaguar XK engine. The debut of this car marked the beginning of the Jaguar XJ-Series I. The XJ12, another iconic Jaguar car introduced in 1970, became a part of this series.

The Jaguar XJ-Series II received a slight facelift in the middle of 1973, and the changes would be seen in XJ6 and XJ12 cars beginning in the 1974 model year. This first generation is known for its poor build. Consumers also saw the introduction of the XJ coupe, which faced several problems from the start.

In 1979, the Jaguar XJ-Series III kick-started with a facelift of the XJ6 and XJ12. The changes include thicker bumpers, which consist of more rubber than those on previous models. There are also changes in the grilles, door handles, headlights, and rooflines of the cars. A large, 5.3-liter V-12 engine powers the XJ12.

The first generation of the Jaguar XJ-Series includes the XJ6 and the XJ12. 1992 saw the production of these two iconic cars finally come to an end. The company struggled after the Jaguar XJ-Series halted, but a short revival occurred with the introduction of the X300. This marked the beginning of the second generation.

This car is designed to bring back the image of the curvaceous Jaguar XJ-Series cars. After production of this car stopped in 1997, Jaguar released the next car in the Jaguar XJ-Series--the X308. The exterior of this car is more or less the same as that of the X300. Under the hood, a V-8 engine powers the X308, rather than the V-12 engine in the X300. The production of this car was halted in 2002, marking the end of the second generation. Over time, mechanical upgrades were made, but the basic design of the car hails from the 1960s, so the Jaguar XJ-Series began to get outclassed by the more modern-looking BMW series.

In 2003, the third generation of the Jaguar XJ-Series was launched with the X350. The car's look and style is similar to that of old Jaguars, but the car itself is completely reengineered. It's larger and taller than other generations of the Jaguar XJ-Series, and has many high-tech features. The X358 followed up with minimal changes to the Jaguar XJ-Series.

Select a Jaguar XJ-Series Year

2016 Jaguar XJ-Series

Luxury, Sedan

2015 Jaguar XJ-Series

Luxury, Sedan

2014 Jaguar XJ-Series

Luxury, Sedan

2013 Jaguar XJ-Series

Luxury, Sedan

The 2013 Jaguar XJ is Jaguar’s top-of-the-line sedan.

2012 Jaguar XJ-Series

Luxury, Sedan

Jaguar's flagship receives minor tweaks for the 2012 model year such as a rear-seat entertainment system for the XJ Supersport and the long-wheelbase XJL gets rear seats that recline and have a massaging feature.

2011 Jaguar XJ-Series

Luxury, Sedan

Everything above the aluminum frame is new on the 2011 XJ. Sleek, modern styling is matched with much-improved handling and powerful new 5.0-liter V-8 engine options. Inside, a stylish new cockpit awaits with high-tech digital gauges, supple leather and copious space even on short wheelbase models. A high-powered Supersport model remains in the lineup for the enthusiast.

2009 Jaguar XJ-Series

Luxury, Sedan

Elegantly balanced between traditional and modern, the 2009 Jaguar XJ is a four-door luxury sedan equipped with a powerful 4.

2008 Jaguar XJ-Series

Luxury, Sedan

The automaker Jaguar prefers to emphasize features such as a luxuriously spacious cabin, a sleek-looking hunkered-down body, and non-conventional arrangement of interior gears in the XJ-Series.

2007 Jaguar XJ-Series

Luxury, Sedan

2006 Jaguar XJ-Series

Luxury, Sedan

2005 Jaguar XJ-Series

Luxury, Sedan

The XJ designation has been used for a range of luxury saloon models from the British carmaker, Jaguar.

2004 Jaguar XJ-Series

Luxury, Sedan

2003 Jaguar XJ-Series

Luxury, Sedan

The 2003 XJ-Series is the largest sedan and the flagship in Jaguar’s lineup.

2002 Jaguar XJ-Series

Luxury, Sedan

The 2002 XJ-Series features the gleaming grille, quad-headlamp face, and beveled hood that make it unmistakably Jaguar.