Jaguar XJ8

The Jaguar XJ8 is a luxury sedan that Jaguar manufactured from 1997 through 2009. The name of the car derives from the eight-cylinder engine that powers it.

More on the Jaguar XJ8
Jaguar XJ8 Origins

The Jaguar XJ8 was developed on a slightly modified Mark 1 model, the same body type as that of the XJ6 and XJ12. However, towards the end of its production, the Jaguar XJ8 also received a Mark 2 body and some additional enhancements. The Jaguar XJ8 is commonly referred to as the Jaguar XJ.

The Jaguar XJ8 improves on the X300--another version of the XJ6 with a slightly modernized approach. The X300 and the Jaguar XJ8 share the same platform, so there are very few differences between them. Another similarity between the Jaguar XJ8 and other cars in the XJ-Series is the signature independent rear suspension system.

About the Jaguar XJ8

The Jaguar XJ8 introduced the V-8 engine to Jaguar's production line. Previous cars in the XJ-Series included only the XJ6 and XJ12, with a six-cylinder inline engine powering the former, and a V-12 engine driving the latter. The discontinuation of these two engines marked the end of the XJ6 and XJ12. The newly designed V-8 then became the only type available in the Jaguar XJ, although the displacement of the engine varied from either a 3.2-liter or a 4.0-liter. In the United States, however, only the 4.0-liter version is available for sale.

The Jaguar XJ8 came available in several models. The base model of the Jaguar XJ8 featured leather upholstery, air-conditioning, and alloy wheels. Other versions of the Jaguar XJ8 included the XJ8 Sport, XJ8 Sovereign, XJR, and SE. Daimler also markets the Jaguar XJ8 under its marquee as the high-range Vanden Plas.

Jaguar XJ8 Features

Before the highly acclaimed XJ remake came into the picture in 2009, the final version of the Jaguar XJ8 was released with the in-house code X358. This car was launched in 2007 and remained in production for two more years until Jaguar completely remade the XJ-Series with the new Jaguar XJ. The Jaguar XJ8 has been criticized for several years as being too old-fashioned as compared to the modern designs sported by its German competitors. The XJ-Series flaunts a timeless look, but it slowly became outdated when the body style changed from Mark 2 to Mark 3.

The last model of the Jaguar XJ8 features a revised grille design, still similar to that of the older XJ-Series cars, but the front bumper is changed to a prominent lower grille. The Leaping Jaguar ornament incorporates the Jaguar face logo within the grille, which was common in the XF- and XK-Series. The model includes redesigned front lights and door mirrors with side repeaters. The front wings have side vents, which were previously found only in the UK-version XJR Portfolio. The side sills, taillights, and rear bumper are modified as well. The interior of the car remains more or less the same as the other versions of the Jaguar XJ8.

Jaguar XJ8 Evolution

The Jaguar XJ8 is designed on the same platform as the X300, with the major change being the introduction of the V-8 engine. The similarities between the X300 and the Jaguar XJ8, codename X308, include four round headlamps, sloping tails, a low roofline, and wraparound taillights. The X300 and the first Jaguar XJ8 can be differentiated by looking at the shape of the indicator lenses, fog lamps, and valance air intakes. The interior of the car also includes three separate gauges in the dashboard, and slight changes to the door trim and central console design. The Jaguar XJ8's engine comes available in three variants: 3.2-liter, 4.0-liter and 4.0-liter supercharged.

The next version of the Jaguar XJ8, codename X350, is considered to be part of the third generation of the XJ-Series. The car's exterior and interior remain the same as past models to evoke the classic image of Jaguar. However, the company made some changes to the specifications of the car. First, the car's chassis is made completely of aluminum. Also, instead of Jaguar's classic rear suspension system, a double wishbone arrangement, this model has a multi-link one. Minor styling differences in the Jaguar XJ8 include changes to the outer headlights, which are bigger than the inner ones.

Select a Jaguar XJ8 Year

2001 Jaguar XJ8

Luxury, Sedan

The 2001 Jaguar XJ8 has been used for different luxury sedans in the Jaguar lineup from 1968 to the present.

2000 Jaguar XJ8

Luxury, Sedan

1999 Jaguar XJ8

Luxury, Sedan

The 1999 Jaguar XJ8 is a luxury sedan that belongs to the XJ series manufactured by the British automaker.

1998 Jaguar XJ8

Luxury, Sedan

The 1998 Jaguar XJ series was originally introduced in 1968 and has remained highly successful since then.