Mercury Grand Marquis

From 1983 until Mercury’s demise in 2010, the Mercury Grand Marquis was a full-size sedan that served as the company’s flagship car. The Grand Marquis got its start in the mid-1970s as the highest trim level for the Mercury Marquis. In 1983, the car was split from the Marquis line and became its own distinct model. The Mercury Grand Marquis was manufactured by Ford and became the Ford Crown Victoria with a Mercury nameplate. The last Mercury Grand Marquis was produced in January 2011.

More on the Mercury Grand Marquis
About the Mercury Grand Marquis

In total, there have been four different generations of the Mercury Grand Marquis in production since 1983. For most of those years, little changed. While its competitors reverted to lighter methods of building cars, the Grand Marquis was still manufactured using the body-on-frame method. Though the ride and handling of this large, heavy car may not have been as good as its competitors, it was known for its roomy and plush interior, quiet ride, and sturdy exterior.

Mercury Grand Marquis Features

The Grand Marquis’s fourth and final generation was unveiled in 2003. This model offered two different trim levels. Drivers could choose between the base GS level and the premium LS level, which provided more features and a richer interior appearance package. The full-size sedan could seat six passengers comfortably and was equipped with a 4.6-liter, V-8 engine that had a power rating of 224 horsepower and 272 lb-ft. A four-speed automatic transmission was the only option available for both trim levels. A handling package could be added, which increased the power output to 235 horsepower. It was later discontinued in 2007.

In 2003, the Grand Marquis got a new chassis, which was derived from the Ford Panther’s platform. Both the front and rear suspension, and the brakes were redesigned to improve handling. Anti-lock brakes were standard and front side airbags became optional. The Mercury Grand Marquis underwent several refreshes during its final years, including the introduction of different trims with various performance and handling.

Mercury Grand Marquis Evolution

When the Mercury Grand Marquis first launched, there were three different body styles to choose from, including a two-door sedan, a four-door sedan, and a five-door station wagon. The station wagon was in production for only one year and was discontinued in 1984. Production of the two-door sedan was terminated in 1986. Until 1986, the Mercury Grand Marquis was equipped with a 4.9-liter, V-8 engine and a four-speed transmission. In 1986, a second engine option was added—a 5.8-liter V-8. In 1988, the model underwent a redesign to both the interior and exterior, although changes were minimal.

The second generation Mercury Grand Marquis was launched in 1992 and saw the most changes since being introduced. It became more rounded and aerodynamic, and the shape improvements distinguished it more from its Ford and Lincoln counterparts. It was equipped with a 4.6-liter, modular, V-8 engine and a four-speed automatic transmission. This generation underwent a refresh in 1995 with modifications made to both the interior and the exterior. A new four-speed automatic transmission was also made available the same year.

In 1998, the third generation Mercury Grand Marquis was unveiled. It was quite similar to the previous generation, but had many modifications to the exterior, including the hood, bumpers, headlights and taillights, mirrors, and grille. The interior was modified slightly, and more optional features were added. It was still equipped with a 4.6-liter, modular, V-8 engine and a four-speed automatic transmission. The engine had a power rating of 190 horsepower or 210 horsepower if the car was equipped with a dual exhaust system.

Select a Mercury Grand Marquis Year