Ad Radar

2013 Ford Taurus, Explorer, and Lincoln MKS are Five Star Winners of NHTSA's New Car Assessment Program

By Joel Arellano | August 23, 2012
Safety continues to be a big selling factor for car shoppers, especially for those with families. Three Ford offerings--the full-sized Ford Taurus sedan, its Lincoln MKS twin, and the Ford Explorer crossover--recently received five stars in crash test safety from the National Highway Traffic and Safety Administration. The three vehicles were subjected to the NHTSA's New Car Assessment Program, or NCAP, which subjected them to front and side crash tests, as well as resistance to rollovers. All three passed high enough to earn the federal agency's five-star Overall Vehicle Score. Says Robert Brown, VIP of Ford Sustainability, Environment, and Safety Engineering, "These most recent crash test ratings from NHTSA are a validation that Ford is continuously innovating in the availability of safety technologies that benefit drivers and occupants in real-world accident situations." The Ford Taurus/Lincoln MKS and the Ford Explorer are outfitted with redesigned passenger airbags and seatbelts for model year 2013. The three are chockfull of safety technologies, many of which are standard. Some of the more notable safety systems found in the Ford Taurus, Explorer, and the Lincoln MKS include inflatable safety belts, which is found in the Explorer; SOS Post-Crash Alert system, which contacts first responders in case of an accident; and MyKey, which allows parents to verify safety systems are active when their teens are taking the family Ford for a spin. Other safety systems include standard electronic stability control in all three vehicles. The Ford Explorer also comes equipped with passenger side knee airbag. Source: Ford
  • 2012 Lincoln Mks Front Three Quarter 1024X640
  • 2013 Ford Explorer Sport
  • 2013 Ford Taurus Front Jpeg